Texas History, Genealogy, Old Photos, Postcards, Maps, and Information.

Lamar County, Texas

Cities, Towns and Communities

Biardstown | Blossom | Deport | Lafayette | Mount Vernon | Paris (Pinhook) - county seat | Reno | Roxton | Sun Valley | Toco


Lamar County. Created December 17, 1840 from Red River County. Organized in 1841. Named in honor of Mirabeau B. Lamar, 1798-1859. Father of Texas education. President of the Republic of Texas 1838-1841. Lafayette, 1841, Mount Vernon, 1843, Paris, originally called Pinhook, 1844, have served as county seat. - Historical Marker text.  Marker erected 1936. Located at west city limits of Paris in roadside park.


Lamar County has had three county seats (Lafayette, Mount Vernon and Paris) and six courthouses during its 170+ years of existance.  Read about Lamar County's Courthouses >>